REORGANIZATION MEETING HONEY BROOK BOROUGH COUNCIL JANUARY 6, 2020

Prior to the Organization Meeting being called to order, the Oath of Office was administered to re-elected council members Jeanne Jenzano and Matthew Halvorsen by Mayor Mulhall.

Mayor Mulhall recognized that council-elected Chandler Matlock will take the oath of office on January 10, 2020.

Reorganization meeting was called to order by Mayor Mulhall.

Election of Council President – Jeanne Jenzano nominated Jessica Curtis as Council President; nomination was seconded by Mr. Halvorsen. The motion passed unanimously.

Election of Council Vice President – Mr. Halvorsen nominated Jeanne Jenzano as Council Vice President; nomination was seconded by Mr. Ott. The motion passed unanimously.

Election of Chairman Pro Tem – Mr. Halvorsen was nominated to continue as President Pro Tem by Mr. Ott and seconded by Ms. Jenzano. The motion passed unanimously.

Appointment of Borough Officials – Ms. Whichard made a motion to appoint the current appointees, seconded by Mr. Ott as listed below:

Secretary - Janis Rambo

Treasurer - Janis Rambo

Police Chief - Patrick J. Ely

Public Works Superintendent - Bill Ford

Borough Solicitor - Buckley, Brion, McGuire & Morris LLP

Zoning, Building and Code Enforcement Officer - Anthony Campbell

Fire Marshal - Glen Morgan

Auditor - Kimmell, Lorah & Associates

Vacancy Board Chair - Bill Ford

Board and Commission Appointments

Planning Commission – Mr. Halvorsen made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jenzano, to appoint Reuben Schoenebaum to a four-year term on the Planning Commission. The motion passed unanimously.

Planning Commission Alternate seat – vacant

Honey Brook Borough Authority - Ms. Jenzano made a motion, seconded by Mr. Ott, to appoint George Downey to a four-year term on the Honey Brook Borough Authority. The motion passed unanimously.

Northwestern Chester County Municipal Authority - Mr. Halvorsen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Ott, to appoint Davis Eames to a four-year term on the NCCMA. The motion passed unanimously.

Board Appointment by Resolution

Zoning Hearing Board Member - Mr. Halvorsen made a motion, seconded by Mr. Ott, to adopt Resolution 2020-01, a resolution appointing Theordore D. Ford to a three-year term on the zoning hearing board. The motion passed unanimously.

Zoning Hearing Board Alternate - Mr. Ott made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jenzano, to adopt Resolution 2020-02, a resolution appointing Paul Rechenberg to a three-year term on the zoning hearing board. The motion passed unanimously.

Establish Monthly Meeting Dates and Times – Ms. Jenzano made a motion, seconded by Mr. Florio, to set the first and third Monday of each month at 7:00 pm at Borough Hall as the monthly Council meetings with the exception of the first meeting for September will be held on Tuesday, September 8 due to the Labor Day Holiday. A discussion was held regarding the dates of January 20, February 17, May 4, July 6; it was decided by Council to keep these dates as regular meetings.

Appointment of Tax Collector (Chester County Treasurer) - Mr. Ott made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jenzano, to reappoint the Chester County Treasurer to collect Borough real estate taxes due to the vacancy of elected Tax Collector as per the Agreement with the County of Chester. The motion passed unanimously.

Ratification of Taxes – Mr. Florio made a motion, seconded by Mr. Halvorsen, to ratify the following taxes:

Real Estate – 2.50 mills Earned Income – 1% Real Estate Transfer – 1%

The motion passed unanimously.

Ratification of 2020 Budget - Mr. Ott made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jenzano, to ratify the 2020 Budget adopted on December 6, 2019. The motion passed unanimously.

Designation of Bank Depository (currently DNB First) - Mr. Ott made a motion, seconded by Ms. Whichard, to designate DNB First as the Borough's depository. The motion passed unanimously.

Emergency Services Resolution – Ms. Whichard made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jenzano, to adopt Resolution 200-03, a resolution identifying emergency service providers or the Borough of Honey Brook. The motion passed unanimously.

Western Chester County Regional Appeals Board - Mr. Florio made a motion, seconded by Mr. Ott, to appoint Matthew Halvorsen and Christopher Falencki as Borough representatives to the WCCRAB. The motion passed unanimously.

West Chester County Council of Government Representatives - Mr. Ott made a motion, seconded by Mr. Halvorsen, to appoint Richard Florio as the Borough's representative and Jessica Curtis as the alternate to the WCCCOG. The motion passed unanimously.

Committee Appointments – Ms. Curtis asked all members to email her within 2 weeks as to which committee they would like to volunteer for. Appointments will be made at the next Council meeting.

The Reorganization Meeting was adjourned at 7:20 pm.

Janis A. Rambo Secretary, from notes taken by Tricia Swinty, Borough Clerk